Living in Adelaide

Image

The country where I was raise, knows just a little about Adelaide, South Australia. Adelaide is the capital city of South Australia and was called the wine capital of Australia. I remember when I’m still in the Philippines, whenever I talk to my friends about my Australian boyfriend (who is now my husband) living in Adelaide, my friends ask me where is Adelaide because they never heard about it, they also thought that it is a province. I’m creating this blog so people may know about Adelaide and the best things about it.

Image

First of all, I want to talk about the amazing “Obahn”. Obahn derives from latin and german word. O stands for Omnibus which means “for all people” and bahn is a german word for railway. Obahn looks like a railway track that is made from cement. It is built for buses. Buses travel at a maximum speed of 100km/hr. I’m living in Tea Tree Gully suburb and whenever I want to come to the city, it only takes 15minutes from tea tree plaza to the city via Obahn.

Image

The 18km route of Obahn is the longest busway in the world and no other state in Australia have this Obahn, only in Adelaide.

ImageView from the bus

When you are inside the bus traveling via Obahn, the scenery was so beautiful, trees,  green grass everywhere and a clean river.

Whenever you visit Adelaide, try to ride a bus via Obahn, I’m sure you will like it.

Imagetea tree plaza interchange

541X, the bus I usually catch from the nearest bus stop on my place to my former school and to my present job. The thing that I like inside the bus of Adelaide that I never experience in my country was the wheeled chair access and seats for elderly, these proves that Australians respect the elderly and the disabled person. But, of course, there still an idiots everywhere, a couple of months ago, I ride a bus from the city to tea tree plaza interchange, there is these two stupid teenage guys that put their feet up on the seat in front of them even if they knew someone is sitting there.

Image

There are lots of bus stops around Adelaide. If you want to catch a bus, you need to find bus stops or interchange. This is also where the bus driver will drop you if you push the buzz. Unlike in Manila, bus drivers will drop you whenever you want even in the middle of the road or highway.

Image

Usually, if there is a bus stop, there is a waiting shed. This top photo is a usual waiting shed.

ImageBicycle lane

I hope there is also bicycle lane on the roads in the Philippines.

ImageRoundabout

I like how the people in Adelaide follow the road rules. Only few people I’ve seen that did not follow the road rules. Just like the other countries, there is still a stupid persons who break the rules.

Image

At my place, every Tuesday morning, this truck collects our garbage. I was so amazed the first time I saw how this truck collect the garbage.

Image

Talking about the weather in South Australia. There are four seasons in South Australia, but the seasons is different to some other countries. Winter in SA is very cold but does not snow and summer is dry but not humid. In almost a year that I’m living here in Adelaide, I never experience extreme weather like thunderstorm, cyclone which cause floods and extreme hot weather.

ImageFilipino Grocery at 6-7 Oxford street, Brahma Lodge SA

I’m so blessed to find a filipino grocery in Adelaide, I don’t feel home sick anymore. Everything that I need for my filipino recipe is here.

From the road to the weather, in my mind, Adelaide is the best place to live. It is not perfect, of course, but it is the best city these days in this crazy world.

About kasenaicha

Happy married lady
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Living in Adelaide

  1. Whendz79 says:

    nice hope i can visit.

Leave a comment